# **MINUTES**

OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF A MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD AT THE GUILDHALL, NORTHAMPTON, ON Saturday, 15 November 2014 AT SIX THIRTY O'CLOCK IN THE EVENING

**PRESENT:** HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR Councillor Caswell (in the Chair).

COUNCILLORS: Ashraf, Ansell, Aziz, Beardsworth, Begum, Bottwood, Eldred,

Flavell, Ford, Glynane, Gowen, Hadland, Hallam, Hibbert, Lane, Larratt, Mackintosh, Mason, Mennell, Oldham, Parekh, Patel and

Sargeant

#### 1. WELCOME BY THE MAYOR

The Mayor welcomed everyone to the Council Meeting and thanked them for attending.

#### 2. APOLOGIES.

Apologies were received from Councillors Capstick, I Choudary, N Choudary, Conroy, Davies, Duncan, Eales, Golby, Hill, King, Lynch, Malpas, Markham, Nunn, Palethorpe, Stone, Strachan, Subbarayan and Yates,

### 3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None

# 4. CONFERRAL OF TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

The Mayor referred to the motion set out on the agenda paper that had been agreed by Council at its meeting on the 23<sup>rd</sup> May 2013 to confer the title of Honorary Alderman to former Councillors Trevor Chown, Vivienne Dams, Frederick Evans, Ronald Liddington, Anthea Mitchell, John Rawlings and Anthony Stimpson awarded the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Northampton.

The Mayor then invited Councillors Mackintosh, Marriott and Beardsworth to endorse the motion.

## RESOLVED:

That in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 former Councillors Trevor Chown, Vivienne Dams, Frederick Evans, Ronald Liddington, Anthea Mitchell, John Rawlings and Anthony Stimpson be awarded the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Northampton.

The Mayor presented certificates to each of the Honorary Aldermen so created and each spoke in thanks to the Council.

The meeting concluded at 09.27am